Norwegian jazz quintet CD

The Bjørn Alterhaug Quintet was formed in 2007, and consists of a group of internationally renowned jazz musicians from NTNU. The quintet has released a new CD called “Songlines”.

The quintet consists of John Pål Inderberg, baritone sax. Frode Nymo, alto sax. Vigleik Storaas, piano. Erik Nylander, drums. Bjørn Alterhaug, bass. The quintet uses a special combination of baritone and alto saxophone which results in an unusual sound that has rarely been heard in the history of the jazz combo.

Since the late 1960s, Bjørn Alterhaug has led a number of different combos bearing his name, and has accompanied many visiting international jazz musicians. These include Ben Webster, Lee Konitz, Chet Baker, Joe Henderson, Sheila Jordan and others. He has contributed to numerous LPs and CDs, and has written about 250 compositions for different instrumental combinations and occasions.

Songlines was recorded and mixed at Rainbow Studio. For more info: